Southern Ice Hockey League

The Southern Ice Hockey League is the top ice hockey competition in the lower half of the South Island of New Zealand. Teams from Tekapo, Queenstown, Alexandra, Gore, Maniototo and Dunedin compete in a range of various grades. Tournaments are held throughout the region for each grade.


SIHL Tournaments 2014


Peewee Round 1 Stats

Nationals, New Zealand Junior Elite League and the New Zealand Ice Hockey League

The Southern Ice Hockey League fields teams at the NZIHF National Ice Hockey Championships in all grades (Peewee and Women). Junior Elite players (under 16 and under 20 play in a national league). The Southern Ice Hockey League premier teams are the Southern Stampede and Dunedin Thunder.

Erewhon Cup

Information and entry forms relating to the Erewhon Cup are listed below:



SIHL Secretary
CJ Capper

SIHL President
Charlie Reid

SIHL Treasurer
Marita Soper
33 Burns St
Phone: 03 203 8963
Fax: 03 203 8960

Helping the DIHA

The Dunedin Ice Hockey Association Board of Directors meets on the first Monday of every month at the Dunedin Ice Stadium. If you are interested in being involved with the committee and organising hockey events in Dunedin then please contact the DIHA secretary.

Dunedin Thunder

For information about the Dunedin Thunder team, please visit their website.

More Information

For more information please visit our contact page. Beginners should visit our Beginners page.